Inauguration Day, MLK, and Midterm Exams

If you missed President Obama’s 2nd Inauguration, I believe it is best that you YouTube the monumental event on a monumental day. It is really worth watching.

Yes, I am speaking to you, Romney.

Anyway, chances are that you are aware that not only is today the day that Obama got sworn in as President for his second term, but it is also Martin Luther King’s birthday; a day we all treasure because it marks the birth of one of America’s greatest Civil Rights leaders and because it gives us a day off. 

Also, can we just take a moment to praise Obama’s inaugural speech? Mentioning strong stances on gun control, environment, healthcare, and gay rights so early in his term will most definitely go down in books as one of the greatest moments in Presidential history.

So take notes future AP US history victims.

As much as I would love to spend today mingling with government dignitaries in the nation’s capital, I am held back by a load of review packets for this week.

For those of you who have been released from the suffocating grasp of high school, midterms were those things that made your head want to explode that weren’t finals. 

Really, they’re the greatest invention since calculus. 

So as I rummage through my notes, frantically searching for factoids I haven’t heard of since September, Michelle Obama is strolling through Washington, casually making history with the most famous being of the day.

Of course, I am talking about her bangs.

So if anyone has advice on how an average student from a little town in Delaware can end up in that Inaugural Parade, feel free to leave that below in the comments and I will be sure to mention you in my speech.

Your beloved blogger,

Bloggiechick

P.S. I will continue my Everyday Confident Series very soon but I have been very busy (and very lazy) recently. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

