Twitter Gives Me Hope?

I am on here right now, at 12:38 am, because I feel the need to write.

What I am going to write, I am not sure yet (in fact, I have neglected to insert in my title first).

I do, however, know that I want to address something that has recently stuck those close to me and my community as a whole.

I have recently lost an… let’s say acquaintance (because I knew him well enough to say “hi” but not well enough to add in a “whatcha doin?”) in a tragedy. The loss has had a greater effect on others that I know and it pains me to think about what they are going through at the moment.

However, it warmed my heart to go on a certain social network (i.e Twitter) and see an outpouring of support for this guy.

You see, a lot of people criticize this generation for being shallow, apathetic, and cruel when they are behind a computer screen. A lot of those people are members of this generation themselves.

Although I must admit that we have a lot of faults and we are far from being the strongest or smartest group of teens in the history of civilization, I believe most of what we are accused of being is blatantly false.

We may be superficial when we choose who’s going to be our prom date, or apathetic when it comes to politics (that can be argued too, but let’s stick to this for right now), or even cruel when you hear the horrible cyber-bullying stories on the news.

Then we have moments that call for sympathy and love. We have moments when a friend or an acquaintance or a peer need a shoulder to cry on. We have moments of loss, when even strangers can’t help but stifle a cry.

These, my dear (few to non-existent) readers, are the moments that proves all those preconceived notions wrong. 

When rival schools, sport teams, and students join together for a single great student, it gives one hope about this era’s teenagers. We are willing to put away petty skirmishes and forget our trivial problems all in the name of a fallen neighbor. 

I cannot tell you how many people tweeted something like this, “I didn’t know him that well but he seemed like a really great guy. Didn’t deserve this. RIP,” or this, “Praying for all those affected. I’m here if anyone needs to talk.”

That is enough to put a smile on my tear-streaked face. How about you?

Maybe I’m being a bit inaccurate in my analysis. After all, we are a small, close-knit community and we have a lot of amazing people jam-packed into this area. 

Maybe it would not be the same some place else.

Nevertheless, over the course of this year, I have seen so many acts of kindness and compassion that they have outweighed all the monstrosities that have inflicted the world recently. Every time I hear something of that positive nature, I cannot help but feel a little bit more optimistic about our society.

I think that a lot of people are becoming more and more cynical. They feel that corruption and evil have taken over the area goodness and love left behind. 

My view is a little different.

I think that most people are born with the natural instinct to feel and to love and to care and to give help where help is needed for others. They do not want to kill or hurt others; they may have been brought up that way or forced that way but no one is willing to become evil. Everyone wants to have others love them and care for them. More importantly, everyone wants to do the same for their fellow men.

So I realize that basing my random optimism off of some kindly-worded tweets sounds like the most ridiculous thing to ever grace a WordPress blog, but it’s late and my brain has stopped functioning for the most part. 

I’ll leave you with a quote from one of the greatest actors and visionaries of the 20th century:

“You have the love of humanity in your hearts, you don’t hate, only the unloved hate; the unloved and the unnatural… you have the power to create machines, the power to create happiness, the power to make this life free and beautiful.”

Rest in peace, and may you look back on our little world with a smile on your face.

Your beloved blogger,

Bloggiechick.

Leave a Reply

